Skip To Main Content

Academic Honors


National Honor Society is a prestigious honor for students who fulfill the following requirements:

  1. Must be a junior or senior with a 3.7 GPA or better

  2. Must complete the Leadership Survey showing membership in 3 organizations during high school years (in or out of school)

  3. Must attain officer or major committee member status in one organization and received an honor or award during high school

  4. Complete the service survey, including at least 3 service projects

  5. Complete Honors English III, AP English IV, 4 science (upper level), 4 math (upper level), and 2 (same) world language

  6. Must submit 5 character references; 3 from certified educational personnel (teachers, counselors, administrators)

NHS National Honors Society


The Kansas Scholars Curriculum is one of the requirements Kansas residents must meet in order to receive State Scholar designation during the Senior year. Students that complete the curriculum, and meet the other requirements, may be designated as State Scholars, which makes them eligible to receive State Financial Aid as provided by the Kansas Legislature. State Scholars may receive up to $1,000 annually for up to four undergraduate years (five, if enrolled in a designated five-year program) based on financial need and the availability of State funds.

Kansas Scholars Quick Facts


Beginning with the 2014-15 school year, NHS students are recognized and earn academic honors based on the completion of rigorous and challenging courses designed to prepare them for university-level studies. This system is known as the NHS Cum Laude system. Requirements are linked below. Students may petition the administration for the inclusion of challenging courses not designated as Honors or AP.